Basie Cally Sammy

Basie Cally Sammy
Item# CD-4
Availability: Usually ships the next business day

Product Description

The enormously enthusiastic response (from critics and fans alike) to Sammy's first collaboration with the SWR Big Band, No Time Like The Present, it inevitable for Sammy to work again with the SWR Big Band. This year Count Basie, one of the most popular and creatively influential band leaders of all time, was chosen as the central theme. Sammy revised some tunes from the Basie repertoire, among them many of his own charts -"Wind Machine, 88 Basie Street and Fancy Pants." A couple of standards were added - Sweet Georgia Brown, Satin Doll, and Ja-Da. New charts in the Basie style - Li'l Ol' Blue Note and Ain't Nobody Gettin' Younger, are the icing on the cake. The result is an utterly satisfying melange of powerfully swinging and grooving tracks. To quote Sammy, 'I haven't had this much fun in years.'

Track Listing:
1. Dimensions In Blue
2. Sweet Georgia Brown
3. 88 Basie Street
4. Fancy Pants
5. Time Stream
6. No More
7. Li'l Ol' Blue Note
8. High Five
9. Ja-Da
10. The Heat's On
11. Samantha
12. Ain't Nobody Gettin' Younger
13. Satin Doll
14. It's A Wonderful World
15. How Sweet It Is
16. Live Bonus Track: Wind Machine